My Crazy Cocina Caliente!!

Just a crazy little latina, stirring up trouble in the cocina!

My Latest Kitchen Love Affair July 10, 2009

Filed under: chicken,dinner — Vanessita! @ 9:13 am
Tags: , ,

Thats it- I’m in love…with my crockpot.

You  may find this hard to believe but I’ve only used my crockpot TWICE.  The first time I used it I was home to “supervise” it and really only heated up meatballs.  Yesterday was my first time leaving the crockpot unattended at home- and boy, was I nervous when I left the house.

Sure, everyone’s told me how crockpots were made to be left alone and cook while your gone- but having a mother who is flat our scared of leaving anything on while shes out of the house- I wasn’t so sure I could trust it.

A little background: Growing up we NEVER had a crockpot at our house.  My mom has NEVER used one- and probably never will.  She’s old-school like that. 🙂  When it came time to register for our wedding, I figured “heck, why not- lets add that to the list”.  My good friend Sonyalie bought us our crockpot- and I am now so grateful for it!  Coming home to a fully cooked meal- AWESOME!!!

Trying to keep up with our healthy kick I decided crockpot chicken chili would be a good hearty & healthy dinner.

Crockpot1

I based my recipe off this blogpost from The Crepes of Wrath:  I did make some changes to it, as usual my changes are in RED.

Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Chili

1 onion, diced We’re not big onion people so I omitted this.
1 16-oz can no-salt-added black beans
1 16-oz can no-salt-added kidney beans
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes with green chilies We’re not chili fans so I just got regular plain diced tomatoes.

6 teaspoons chili powder Skipped**
4 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin Skipped**
3 teaspoons onion powder Skipped**
2 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder Skipped**
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper Skipped**
3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
chopped fresh cilantro (optional) Skipped**
low-fat sour cream (optional) Skipped**
cheddar cheese (optional)
Rice, tortilla chips, tortillas (for serving) We used saltines.
And as usual- I seasoned my chicken before putting it in with Adobo 🙂

**Instead of using the various spices I just threw in 1 package of Publix Brand Chili Seasoning…for me it was much more cost effective than buying all the spices I didn’t have on hand.

1. Combine beans, onion, chili peppers, tomato sauce, chili powder, paprika, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper (if you don’t have these spices, you can just buy a package of taco seasoning) in a slow cooker.
2. Place chicken on top and cover. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours.
3. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in.
4. Top with fresh cilantro, low-fat sour cream, and cheese. Serve over rice, with tortilla chips, or eat by itself! Serves 6.

Chili1.1

Lessons Learned:

Publix chicken breasts are normally pretty big- I should have taken precaution and only put 2 chicken breasts in.  3 seemed to be WAY too much and once I shredded up the chicken it made the chili extremely thick.  It was almost hard to savor the tomatoes and beans because there was just SO much chicken.

Overall the chili was very tastey and I’m sure I’ll be making it again in the future.

What I really learned from this meal was how much I loved my crockpot!!!  I’m on a hunt now for new/healthy/crockpot recipes.  Nothing beats coming home to a delicious smelling house (that isn’t on fire!!! Contrary to my mothers beliefs! haha).

If I had to rate this? As is: probably 3 out of 5.
I’m sure if I made it again with the changes I’d make it would score higher.

 

Leave a Reply

