My Crazy Cocina Caliente!!

Just a crazy little latina, stirring up trouble in the cocina!

Gorgonzola Turkey Burgers! July 16, 2009

Filed under: dinner,Turkey — Vanessita! @ 7:42 pm

Yep…we’re on a roll with ground turkey 🙂  And even more cheese!

Here’s another delicious and nutritious turkey burger recipe that includes one of my favorite foods: Gorgonzola cheese.  YUMMM!!!!  I may love cheese but I think Gorgonzola is my favorite, such pungent flavor, it’s delicioso!!!!  So when I found this recipe, I knew I had to give it a try.  The original recipe called for making mini-patties but I made regular sized patties instead.

Gorgonzola Turkey Burgers:
Adapted from: Here

Ingredients

  • 1/2  teaspoon  garlic powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/4  pounds  ground turkey breast
  • 1/2  cup  (2 ounces) crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/4  cup  reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 2  tablespoons  minced sweet gherkin pickle (about 2 small)  We skipped this
  • 1/8  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 12  (1-ounce) dinner rolls We used regular burger buns
  • 6  curly leaf lettuce leaves, torn in half
  • I added an egg white to help keep the patties together (had a bad experience last time, haha)

Burgers1 

Preparation

Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Add cheese, stirring with a fork just until combined. *I added the egg in here Divide turkey mixture into 12 equal portions, shaping each into a 1/4-inch-thick patty. 

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add 4 patties; cook patties until they’re no longer pink & fully cooked (doesn’t take long at all).

Combine mayonnaise, pickle, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper in a small bowl. Cut rolls in half horizontally. Spread about 1 teaspoon mayonnaise mixture on bottom half of each roll; top each with 1 turkey patty and 1 piece lettuce. Cover with tops of rolls. Serve immediately.

Burgers2

I also whipped up a small batch of lemon yogurt sauce.  2 tablespoons of non-fat plain yogurt, about 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and a little pepper.  I used this as my “mayo” and also topped my burger with a slice of avocado. YUM!

We paired this with some oven baked french fries and it was one delicious meal!!!  It’s in our rotation and I do plan on making them again.

Burgers3

My score?  Probably a 4!

 

One Response to “Gorgonzola Turkey Burgers!”

  1. Rush Says:

    throw some avocado on there!


Leave a Reply

