My Crazy Cocina Caliente!!

Just a crazy little latina, stirring up trouble in the cocina!

Cupcakes & Lemon! July 30, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes — Vanessita! @ 11:13 pm
Tags: , ,

Sorry Sorry Sorry!!! I know it’s been about a week since I’ve updated my blog but we’ve been very very busy!!!  Busy both with our families and busy in the kitchen, which means lots of blog updates soon to come!!

Last Thursday I tried 2 new cupcake recipes from my “125 best Cupcake recipes” book (given to me by my WC exchange nestie!!!).  I had recently stocked up on lemon so I decided to make Lemon Yogurt cupcakes and Pink Lemonade cupcakes.
I will warn you ahead of time: The Lemon Yogurt cupcakes are now near the top of my all-time favorite cake flavors- I just can’t express how YUMMY these cupcakes are.  I received SOOOOO many compliments from my co-workers.  In the exact words of my co-worker Andrew: “mmmmmmmmm”, haha – which my manager replied with “I totally agree!” 🙂  (and that means a lot because my manager is SOOOOO not a sweets person).

Cupcake1.1

Lemon Yogurt Cupcakes
From: 125 Best Cupcake Recipes, Julie Hasson (p. 55)

Makes 12 cupcakes
Preheat Oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

1 1/4 Cup AP Flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter (melted & cooled) (1 stick)
1 egg
1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used non-fat)
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
3 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tsp. lemon oil or lemon extract (I used extract)

1. In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, butter and egg until smooth.  Add yogurt, lemon zest and juice, and lemon oil, beating until smooth.  Add flour mixture, beating just until smooth.  (I did this in my stand mixer)
3. Scoop batter into prepared pan.  Bake in preheated oven for 22 to 25 minutes or until tops of cupcakes spring back when lightly touched.  Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes.  Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack.  Top cooled cupcakes with frosting.

I topped these cupcakes with my own lemon-cream cheese frosting:

1/4 cup of butter (1/2 a stick)
1/2 block of cream cheese
Powdered Sugar
Lemon Juice

In a stand mixer mix the butter & cream cheese until smooth (at room temp).
Start adding powdered sugar until you get the consistency you want (I went for a stiffer consistency).
Add in about 1 tsp. of lemon juice, mix well.
If it becomes too liquidy, add some more powdered sugar.

Now, I had been looking forward to making these pink lemonade cupcakes for a LONG time.  Sadly they weren’t everything I was expecting them to be.  My co-workers did like them but told me they were a little too tart and perhaps too dense. 😦 boo.

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes
From: 125 Best Cupcake Recipes, Julie Hasson (p. 107)

Makes 10 cupcakes
Preheat Oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
Pinch Salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup veggie oil
2 egg whites
1/3 cup thawed frozen pink lemonade concentrate
1/4 cup buttermilk
2 to 3 drops of red food coloring (I used pink Wilton icing gel)

1. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, oil, egg whites and lemonade concentrate.  Alternately whisk in flour mixture and buttermilk, making three additions of the flour and two of buttermilk, beating just until smooth.  Add just enough food coloring to turn the batter a light pink shade.
3. Scoop batter into prepared pan.  Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until tops of cupcakes spring back when lightly touched.  Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes.  Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack.  Top cooled cupcakes with frosting.

I topped these with a Pink Lemonade Buttercream I found on IheartCuppyCakes.

Lemon Buttercream
From: I Heart Cuppycakes

3 cups + 3 Tbsp confectioner’s sugar
1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
1/8 tsp salt
2 Tbsp lemon juice
Red food color (I used Wilton pink gel)

Add the butter, confectioner’s sugar, salt and lemon juice to the stand mixer and mix on low using the paddle attachment until combined.

Add pink food coloring and mix until frosting is uniformly pink.

While the pink lemonade cupcakes weren’t my favorite- I’m glad I decided to try a few new recipes.  I would have never thought of baking with yogurt and I was very nervous when I first read the recipe- but man o man is it delicious! Super moist and flavorful- the icing was just the perfect addition as well.  I WILL be making those again! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

